ArGest Backup User Guide

  1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. ArGest Backup User Guide
  4. What is ArGest Backup?
  5. Recover to an Alternate Location

Recover to an Alternate Location

Since you may need to recover data to an alternate system or location on the original system, ArGest Backup provides two methods for restoring to an alternate location:

Recovery trimming original path
This mode will trim any path elements from the selected data and restore the chosen files or folders directly into the alternate path. For example, a folder that was originally located at:

/Volumes/Storage 3/Project/Dailies

Being recovered into

/Users/me/Project/

This would result in a restored file layout of

/Users/me/Project/Dailies

Recovery using the full original path
This mode will retain the full path of the original files or folders and add them to the path selected as the recovery location. Using the previous example, the resulting recovered data would be located at:

/Users/me/Project/Volumes/Storage 3/Project/Dailies

It’s important to realize that in this second case, BRU will restore all the original properties and permissions and the resulting recovered files or folders will be hidden in the Finder since the original /Volumes folder is hidden in Finder by default.

Examples of files that exist under the /Volumes directory are external drives such as Xsan, FireWire, USB, SMB, AFS, NFS, SAS, eSATA, Fibre Channel RAID devices – basically any volume available to your system that is not the root or boot volume.

To locate the files after such a recovery has been completed, you may either use the Finder’s “Go to” command or the Terminal with the ‘ls‘ (ell ess) command.

To use Finder to get to the newly restored files, press ⌘-SHIFT-G (command-shift-g). When the “Go to…” window appears, type in the full path to the restore point and append /Volumes to the path. For example, if you restored your data to /Users/me/Desktop, then the full path you need to enter is:

/Users/me/Project/Dailies/Volumes/

Then press [ENTER] and you will see the contents of the previously hidden folder. You may now move the restored data to a visible folder.

If you get an error, check your path and make sure capital letters are used when needed as well as make sure that the full path to the files was entered correctly.